Kalyan Keo

WomenTalk
WomenTalk TV
Published in
2 min readSep 13, 2016
Young activist promoting education in Cambodia

Kalyan Keo works with the United Nations Development Program, and is a big advocate of youth volunteerism and education. Her dedication to her country and family serve as an amazing source of inspiration to the young people of Cambodia.

Q: Can you tell us a little bit about how it was like growing up?

A: I am very humbled and probably one of the lucky women in Cambodia to be born in a family that values education. My parents always make me study very hard. I ended up getting a scholarship from the government.

Q: How did you get involved with volunteerism and social work?

A: I mean being out side of Cambodia, it really brought new ideas, brought different perspectives and really shaped my passion for the future. So that’s how I started to be passionate about development. Because I thought that seeing Australia, seeing Singapore, Cambodia is so far behind. I would like to explain to the world that Cambodia, besides its daunting history, we still have the bright side.

Q: What is empowerment to you?

A: Empowerment to me is from the inside but I think the main driver is about the individual itself

For Kalyan’s full video:

http://womentalk.com/womentalk-tv/season-3-3/female-cambodian-activist-promoting-education-and-volunteerism/

--

--

WomenTalk
WomenTalk TV

An Emmy nominated series featuring extraordinary unsung ‘sheroines’ from Asia. We are the leading women’s empowerment platform in Asia. http://womentalk.com/