What is Christian Transhumanism?

Micah Redding
Wonder & Fear
Published in
1 min readJan 2, 2017

As we begin this new year, I want to start sharing some thoughts on Christian Transhumanism, what it is, why it exists, and where it might be going. To do that, I want to answer some basic questions I’ve been getting, starting with the most basic question of all: What is Christian Transhumanism?

As I see it…

  1. First, Christian Transhumanism is a conversation, seeking to promote positive engagement between Christianity and the leading edges of technological development and thought.
  2. Second, Christian Transhumanism is an emerging theology of technology within the Christian tradition.
  3. Third, Christian Transhumanism is a voice for the importance of positive, relational values within the broader transhumanist project.
  4. Fourth, Christian Transhumanism is a positive religious vision that calls Christians to serve on behalf of the world.

That’s how I see it. What do you think?

I’ll be sharing some more thoughts over the next few days and weeks. Follow along here or on my email list to explore these subjects more in-depth.

If you know someone who might find this interesting, please recommend it. And feel free to comment below—I’d love to know your thoughts and questions!

--

--

Micah Redding
Wonder & Fear

Christian Transhumanism: Faith & science, religion & technology, the future of humanity. Host of the Christian Transhumanist Podcast. http://micahredding.com