Filson Magnum camera messenger bag

Kenneth Wong
wong weviews
Published in
3 min readJul 1, 2015

--

I received my Filson Magnum Harvey camera bag today. Having used the Filson game bag for a week, here’s a short review and comparison:

The Filson game bag is a messenger bag that seems like it was made prior to our gadget-laden days.

There are

  • two front pockets (which hold my lens filters, spare lens and body caps, some ziplock bags, rubber bands, and gaffer tape),
  • two side pockets around 2 inches wide each (one holds my Sony NW-ZX2 Walkman/DAP, while the other holds a USB charger for the Sony and a Xiaomi 16000mAh USB power pack),
  • a laptop section pocket inside the main compartment that fits my mid-2011 Macbook Pro,
  • a main compartment that fits a Crumpler Haven (L) camera insert (in which safely resides two Ms (with lenses attached), a spare lens, a Leica battery charger, two spare batteries), a spare tee-shirt (or a light sweater), and a water bottle
  • an orange mesh pocket that runs the entire rear of the bag, under which is another sleeve pocket big enough to store an iPhone 6 plus with a UAG impact resistant case. And two pen sleeves.

To say that this bag is capable of storing quite a bit of kit is an understatement.

The shoulder strap is made of strong but stiff nylon which has a bit of an edge (it’s cut my neck), but looks like it would put up to a good amount of abuse.

I had assumed that the black Filson Magnum Harvey camera bag, named for Magnum photographer David Alan Harvey, was going to be similar, but as it turns out, it has some improvements that I had wished for in the Game bag, namely

  • a canvas strap (softer, more comfortable to carry for extended periods),
  • an inner zipper pocket for keeping the little things easy to find, easy to reach, and
  • a shoulder pad
  • a key ring

I love the material (mine has some lovely patina from the previous owner), and it has a simple camera insert (which is split into two sections, great for 2 M bodies with lenses, but no divider for extra lenses, batteries, chargers, etc).

I’m not a huge fan of the insert, but it’s nicely padded, looks and feels pretty good (and has a flap on top to impede curious eyes and fingers). I’ll give it a week or two before I decide if I want to switch it out for a Haven (S) or (M)

Note of caution though — this bag seems nowhere as weather-resistant as the Billingham Hadley Pro that I have. I’ve been caught out in a torrential downpour with the Billingham and the insides remained bones dry, including the insides of the front and back pockets

The gaps from the top, front, and side flaps certainly look like they would allow for water ingress, so keep that in mind.

That said, I like that this is a sloppy bag. It looks great with casuals and even shorts, t-shirt and flip flops, while the Billingham looks a little too formal. The Billingham is also a structured bag and holds quite a lot less than the Harvey.

They aren’t mutually exclusive smile ;)

I’ve oddly grown rather fond of the quirks in the design, but time will tell if these are keepers

--

--

Kenneth Wong
wong weviews

experience strategist, gaming enthusiast, tech nerd, coffee addict, camera nerd, audio snob, hiker, golfer