Letter from Nadia Mercado

WontTake SHIFT
Won’t take SHIFT anymore
2 min readApr 6, 2019

November 5, 2018

Dear SHIFT Board of Directors,

I am writing to you today because the experience I had at SHIFT and the Emerging Leaders Program was so traumatic and emotionally exhaustive that I have yet to find a way to put in to words what it was that happened to myself along with fellow ELP members. However I think the group letter that has been drafted very eloquently explains much of how I feel. I do want to specifically mention one interaction I have had with Christian that I have found very problematic.

One month before ELP, Christian decided to announce a photo contest. Christian sent out an email to everyone in ELP before the beginning of the program stating that there would be a photo contest. If we mentioned the benefits of being outdoors along with mentioning SHIFT’s Instagram page @SHIFT_JH, the person with the most Instagram likes would receive a $500 Adidas gift card.

When I asked Christian for clarity about when the contest would be over Christian indicated that he did not know how to even do a photo contest and asked for my help on when to set a deadline. I explained to him that most photo contests end a day or two before announcing the winner and that perhaps he should set it to end the day before ELP starts. Christian thanked me for my advice and did not mention the photo contest again until I received an email from him last week in which he requests for me to speak to him 1) so that I can give him feedback about SHIFT and ELP and 2) because he needs help selecting a winner for the photo contest.

Christian asked my ELP cohort and myself to use our social capital to promote SHIFT for a reward and he still has not followed through on that promise. It has been 2 weeks post SHIFT and someone should receive the prize they deserve. I implore that you as the board of directors hold Christian accountable for his actions as what he did was extractive and unethical.

If you would like evidence of the emails I have received from Christian over the matter, I will happily forward them to you. Thank you for your time.

Blue Skies,

Nadia Iris Mercado

Emerging Leader 2018
Clinical Nurse II, Duke University Hospital
Blogger, Melanin Basecamp
Community Outreach Coordinator, Team Blackstar Skydivers
Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Incorporated. Beta Sigma Chapter

--

--