Adaptations

Each wave another whim

David Rudder
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!
1 min readApr 17, 2021

--

Some changes in the weather
Happens in a subtle way
Waves weave along the seashore
And evaporate to spray.

Some tumble some are steep
Others wash over my head
I bob and weave and take a breath
As some curl and splash instead.

I soak the sea up like a sponge
When on my morning swim
There’s parallel perception
Each wave another whim.

Adaptation is a measure
I call on constantly
To move just like the ocean
And attune instantly.

Swimming is a rhythm
A horizontal dance
Massaging of the waters
In a metaphoric trance.

I swim my way to liberty
A clearing of the mind
Like a ritual washing
And leave the grime behind.

It’s like a new beginning
The way I start each day
Adapting to the elements
When I go out to play.

©

David Rudder
17th April 2021

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.