Casting Shadows Part Two (Revised)

--

Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I sat at the breakfast table, nursing a cup of cold coffee. However, I was concentrating on my younger sister rather than the coffee. Despite my best efforts, I was unable to protect her, but how do you protect someone who you cannot anticipate? My sister’s life had been turned upside down, and I felt helpless.

I had listened to my sister’s muffled cries the night before. I knew she was grieving, so I let her grieve. It was natural, but I hated seeing my headstrong little sister hurt.

When I finally decided I couldn’t take it any longer, I went into Celine’s room to see how she was doing.

“Good morning.” My voice was soft. I pulled the desk chair next to Celine’s bed.

She didn’t say anything for a moment, I could tell she was exhausted, not physically, but emotionally.

“Good morning, Tess.” Celine finally replied without much enthusiasm.

I stifled a yawn, we both had, had a long night.

I finally decided to break the silence after a few moments.

“Celine, speak to me.” I replied. “It’s okay to get angry at me. Just don’t hold it all in.”

“Tess, it’s not your fault, I don’t blame you.”

--

--