Hanging Cabinet for My Daughter

Spalted maple and cherry hanging cabinet…

ScienceDuuude
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!

--

1652 — A hanging cabinet for my daughter. Photo by ScienceDuuude.

Cabinets and spoonbills…

The photo above shows the third woodworking project I attempted. I wanted to build a small hanging bookshelf or cabinet for my daughter, someplace where she could store her things.

By the way, to the left of the cabinet is a piece of my 4th grade artwork my daughter found in a package her grandma, my mom, surely sent to embarrass me. Those things you made in your youth and thought with relief were thrown away? Well, moms seem to find a way to sequester them and send them to you decades later when you have kids of your own. My daughter has claimed it.

The macrame and hanging fixture on the print were done by my art teacher because, to my horror, she made sure all the artwork was displayed in the hallways. I think this is called batik or cracked wax resist. If I recall, you paint the fabric, coat it in wax, randomly crack the dried wax, apply dye to penetrate the cracks and into the fabric, then melt away the wax with an iron and absorbent paper. This leaves you with a fabric with a wonderfully random pattern looking like an archaeological artifact, perhaps from R Tsambounieri Talarantas’s ancestral home in Greece, crazed and fractured by the weight of time.

--

--

ScienceDuuude
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!

Husband, dad, scientist, loves to share sciency stuff and goofiness. Please follow me: https://twitter.com/DuuudeScience