So Long and Thanks for All the Phish

Why I’m leaving Facebook, for good this time

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!
4 min readMar 25, 2021

--

Photo of author, courtesy of CAartist, La Jolla, CA

I’m leaving Facebook,
LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram
I love Medium

Hi, my name is Adelia and I’m a Facebook-aholic. It has been two hours since I last checked my feed. It has been five weeks since my last posting.

Once, it was FunBook

There was a time, back at the beginning, when FB was fun. Back then I also had a page for my business to allow customers, sales reps, and business associates to stay connected. FB was a place to build relationships, make new friends, keep track of relatives, and broadcast to the world a cheesy pic of every meal I ever ate.

“You need offshore content creators!” It will be good for SEO, they said. Get your name out there! LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, get your website optimized and linked to all the above, build a presence and a BRAND! ACK!!

Yes, I wanted to be liked and shared and I encouraged everyone to comment. And I was doing the same in return. That’s how it was “supposed” to work.

And it did. Friend requests poured in, and I gleefully accepted them one and all. I “friended” people too, especially folks who were fun or interesting in some way. In fact, I made some…

--

--

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!

Author of "The Accidental Expat: A Costa Rican Adventure", science lover, contributing editor at SalishMagazine.org, expat, seeking the interesting and unusual