Where the Wild Goose Goes

Life lessons I learned from Nick and Isabel

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!
4 min readJan 30, 2021

--

Photo by Lloyd Blunk on Unsplash

Nick and Isabel
came to Bufflehead Pond Farm.
My garden watches.

Ever since I was a little kid on a big farm, geese have fascinated me. So regal. So unapproachable and mysterious. Such prolific poop machines. My dog is fascinated with them too, and she perfumes herself daily with their droppings when they’re in town.

That’s the bad news. The good news is they literally mow our grass for us, fertilizing and aerating at the same time. But that’s not why I love and admire them so much.

My dear friend Betsy used to live nearby where Nick and Isabel had presided over the wetlands at the bottom of the slope of her property. One day last year as we were enjoying a little libation on my deck overlooking the pond, two proud Canada geese made a dramatic splashdown, looked around, and decided it was good. Betsy recognized them immediately as the young pair who had once reigned at her old place, Redtail Roost.

Nick and Isabel quickly decided Bufflehead Pond Farm would be suitable for raising a small brood, probably their first, and they stayed.

For several months it became nearly impossible for me to accomplish anything beyond the minimum requirements of…

--

--

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
Woodworkers of the World Unite!!!

Author of "The Accidental Expat: A Costa Rican Adventure", science lover, contributing editor at SalishMagazine.org, expat, seeking the interesting and unusual