5 AM Wisdom : On Being Weird

Stephanie Rogers-Moore
Word Garden
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2024

“You’re not crazy; You’re just first.” — Jamie Kern Lima

Being Called Weird by Rebel Circus

It’s 5:25am, I’ve got an interview at 1:30 pm, but I #amwriting …writing about limited editions.

If we’re #artists, our #poets’ verses get deeper, our #beats get stronger, our #storyteller notebooks get fatter.

If we’re into #fitness, the #runner’s high is more attainable, #lifter’s weight goals are reachable, and the bodies get thinner! But that’s the blessing of being a limited edition…it’s diving into our gifts, harnessing our crafts that shape us into potential classics. It also makes us very weird to those who don’t understand our gifts yet.

You know what makes me weird? (I mean, besides writing at 5AM and loving every minute! ) I can put curlers in my hair without turning the lights on…and without a mirror…and come to think of it, I could probably roll my hair blindfolded if I had to! My fiancée noticed because, as I said, I’ve been interviewing lately, and my bed hair doesn’t work towards future employment. So I’ve been waking up, setting my hair, and heading to the computer to make my deadline. When I started, he asked if I needed the lights on, and I said no. He went back to sleep and woke up with a start when he later saw me at the computer. His comment? “Wow, you really didn’t need the lights on; how’d you DO that so fast!?”

Maybe it was all those books I read by flashlight after curfew when I was younger that attuned me to be able to do strange and amazing things at very strange hours. *snicker!* Maybe that could be an upcoming book title: “Curlers at 4AM, Wisdom at 5!” Hmm…maybe I just found the name of MY limited edition…!

God, I LOVE being weird, and on this #HappyFriday, I hope you’re loving your weird and wonderful limited editions, too! #writers #inspiration #writerslife #writersofinstagram #poetsofinstagram #poets #painters #storytellers #runners #lifters #futuremillionaires #goodmorning #NYC #riseandgrind #keepmovingforward (at 5AM Wisdom)

Originally published at https://www.tumblr.com.

--

--

Stephanie Rogers-Moore
Word Garden

Freelance writer, published poet in anthologies by Pink Tree Press, Rogue Scholars Press, and the New York Writers Coalition.