Solitude On Rails

A Lone Traveller

A young man’s silent journey speaks volumes

Rubina Khush Jan
Word Garden

--

Photo by Dan Roizer on Unsplash

I hurriedly took a seat on the metro train a few days back.

Due to some work, I was already super late for office that day.

Usually, the train is crowded during peak hours but it was a dull summer and a very hot afternoon.

There were few people on the train.

After settling down I usually observe my surroundings.

I automatically see stories in each one of my fellow commuters.

Living in the most desired metropolitan city allows you to witness multi-national citizens.

While thinking of the day my mind started to wander off when I noticed a young man in the corner seat towards my left front side.

There was space between our seats for standing passengers but that space was empty.

Trying hard not to stare I observed his demeanour little by little.

That young fellow was sitting with his head slightly tilted towards his right shoulder.

He sat with his crossed legs and a mobile phone in his right hand.

He was dressed smartly. A black jacket, with a light blue stripe shirt and black pants.

His shoes were light brown and shiny.

He looked like someone who didn’t frequently take the train.

Neither did he look like he was in a hurry.

Mostly on my daily commute, I see people who look a bit anxious or sleepy. Their looks show that they are off to work.

What caught my attention was his unique facial features.

His slightly fair with a bit of wheatish complexion and a pointy, elegant and slightly curvy nose gave him an exquisite look.

With this sleek body and posture, he looked European or maybe French.

Thick locks of wavy and slightly long light brown hair covered his head from both sides making him even more mysteriously charming.

From his right side, his hair fell a little forward on the right eyebrow. With that posture throughout the journey intact, he didn’t move an inch.

His light brown coloured eyebrows and almost almond-shaped brown eyes made me wonder if he was from Turkey.

Once I saw him sitting like that I couldn’t stop but think about his story. He looked like he was going far away.

Sitting indifferently to any announcements on the train, he looked like he was probably on his way to meet someone special.

My vivid imagination eagerly wanted to know his story.

Where was he going? Who was he meeting on such a hot sunny weekday? What might have he eaten for breakfast?

The mysterious young man didn’t take his eyes away from this mobile screen.

He didn't move a muscle, not even once till the time my stop reached.

I took off while he remained seated in his corner glued to his phone in the same posture as I had seen him when I first sat down.

Do you ever wonder about the stories of the strangers you pass by on your daily commute?

Hi, I am Rubina. Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this article, try these next :)

About Me

16 stories
Rakaposhi Hunza Valley

Don’t forget to Clap 👏🏻 , highlight 🔊 and share your actual feedback ✍🏻! I’ll check out your work too. Let’s connect over genuine interaction. Thank you for your time and contribution.

In case you are feeling extra generous, support my work by buying me a coffee here so I can continue to bring you stories!

--

--

Rubina Khush Jan
Word Garden

Content writer | Digital Marketer | Sales prof. I write about my life experiences. Let's follow each other's journey to create enriching experiences.