Am I the Only One Who Can’t Read Long Articles?

MartinRaymondo
Word Garden
Published in
1 min readApr 11, 2024
Guy realizes he clicked on a long article — the author created using Copilot

It’s disheartening to spot a cool headline, glance at the read time, and realize it’s 13 minutes long.

I’m not sure about you, but I do not click on that 95% of the time. Sometimes, I see articles that are 54 minutes long.

Big yikes!

If that were a novella, I’d read some, but an article of that length is crazy. I wonder how long it takes those people to write that? Some of my past articles, with all the research involved, ended up being time-consuming, yet they only brought in pennies.

In my earlier days of writing, something like that might fare better today.

When I do choose to read a longer article, I often end up scrolling or skipping parts to speed things up.

I’m not impatient, yet I’m the complete opposite when it comes to reading.

When something is well written, I’m captivated.

I will read the entire post, so if there wasn’t so much junk content everywhere, it would help people.

--

--