Are We Really “Good” People or Is It An Act?

Soul_Writer
Word Garden
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2024

The ever-benevolent Sunday had once again dawned upon my otherwise monotonous life and I was wrapped in my blanket savouring every bit of its glory.

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

As with all good things in life, those moments of bliss soon came to a halt when the doorbell rang. I froze and prayed for it to be an auditory hallucination or a nightmare. But the devil’s call did not cease. I groggily climbed out of my bed and stumbled towards the front door to find a man holding a cluster of files and a name tag tucked into his side pocket. I took him for a sales representative, that was, until he thrust a brochure into my hand. I took a glance; it was of a charity organization.

“We collect food and clothes for the children of orphanages” he smiled politely.

I knew what was expected of me, but my sleep-deprived brain was quick to come up with a million excuses. I was not mentally prepared to dive into my disarrayed wardrobe and shuffle through the pile of clothes until I could come up with a piece of clothing, I was willing to part with. Moreover, it would be rude to send him away with just one piece of cloth, I told myself.

So I asked him if he could come back the following week. He said he couldn’t and left the place rather disappointed.

I did not think much of it and went back to bed. Lo and behold, 5 minutes
into the incident, my moral conscience jumped out of her sleep-induced coma. I was hit by a wave of extreme guilt. I rushed to my wardrobe, picked out and counted all the clothes I could have given the man, had I thought and acted a bit selflessly. Images of orphan children in deep longing for good clothes to wear for the festive season flashed in my mind.

A crippling feeling of self-hatred crept into my being. Thus, the long-standing debate of whether I was a good person or not resurrected. My mind enumerated various instances from the past where I had acted selflessly. It doused my guilt to a certain extent though not completely.

I was painfully reminded that as an empath my sense of self-worth is deeply linked to being a “good” person, or at the very least, someone who doesn’t hurt others. And I wondered, aren’t most humans like this, at least on the surface? We all want to be considered good, well-meaning individuals who give back to the community any chance we get, right?

But it posed before me an even greater question of whether all acts of charity stem from a rather selfish motive of not being viewed as self-absorbed, or better yet to convince ourselves that we are not selfish. I wondered if charity has always served as a means for us to burn our guilt over spending money on feel-good shopping, eating out and entertainment, while millions live in poverty.

We are so quick to dismiss a celebrity’s philanthropy as a mere publicity stunt. But isn’t our beneficence, too just an act in many ways?

After hours of unnecessary contemplation, I arrived at the hypothesis that even if acts of kindness are simply an effort to tone down our undeniable self-fixation, the good that comes out of it can still change lives.

And I on that hapless Sunday learnt that doorbells need to be turned off during holidays.

--

--