Dachshund Diaries #1: The Challenges and Rewards of a Reactive Companion

Ross Derbyshire
Word Garden
Published in
3 min readJan 26, 2024

--

photo by the author, taken with permission from Ernie 🐾

After writing my first article about Ernie:

I was struck with the idea of creating a series chronicling our time together. Embarking on this journey with a dachshund, a reactive one at that, brings with it a myriad of experiences. In these ‘Dachshund Diaries’ I'm going to explore the challenges and rewards associated with having a reactive dog and highlight any tips that may be useful to owners in a similar position.

Why is it always the small dogs? I know thats a generalisation but, if the collar fits…Reactivity in dogs was something I was completely unaware of. I’m not from a pet family and in my eyes there were two types of dogs. Those with good owners, and those with bad.

Great thinking right? Wrong.

Turns out, I wasn’t alone in that thinking.

The Judgment of Others

From unexpected barking fits to moments of heightened alertness, understanding Ernie did not come immediately.

--

--

Ross Derbyshire
Word Garden

A man on a mission to fulfil the promise of his 8 year old self by becoming a writer