Deep Down The Rabbit Hole There Is No Existence Of Time

Only stillness

Krish K
Word Garden
2 min readAug 12, 2024

--

Photo by Heather Zabriskie on Unsplash

The tale of Alice in Wonderland fascinated me as a child. A young girl goes down the rabbit hole to find a whole new world filled with strange creatures, and her view on life shifts along the experience inside the rabbit hole.

In our nonfiction reality, we spend a substantial amount of time knowing others around us.

But have you ever wondered what’s inside you?

In short, who are you?

To answer this not-so-simple question, you may include your name and your place of birth. Where you live or in what area you work.

But do those external identities really define you?

Doesn’t it feel like there is much more to you?

The layman’s concept of time

Oh! I need to get ready to go to my office.

Why?

I need to be there on time.

Yes, time is the most powerful tool that humanity has evolved through its mind.

And now, both time and mind define human beings.

Isn’t it strange?!

Yes, it is.

We, as human beings, are so identified with our mind and time that we are drifting away from our real form, the being.

Some may define it as the soul or our spiritual self.

During my mindfulness practice, I begin by recognizing my sense perceptions, which bring me into the present, this moment. For instance, how I feel at that very moment and what sounds surround me.

In the next step, I get a sense of calm, a stillness inside me, whenever the voice inside my mind stops talking. But as a beginner, I have yet to achieve that stillness for a prolonged period of time. But I can say I got a taste of that stillness for a very brief moment.

In Echkhart Tolle’s words, a shift in consciousness occurs when we separate ourselves from our minds and the perception of time vanishes.

Finally, it all comes down to a singularity known as now, or the present moment.

Final thought

In our everyday lives, we have become so obsessed with time that sometimes we forget the real essence of our lives. It happens to me quite often and I always find myself running for something.

Being a highly punctual person, which helped me during my academic days, has now turned me into a workaholic for no good. As a result, most of the time I find myself lost inside my ever-wandering mind.

Mindfulness is helping me to realize the importance of the present moment and I am able to stop the continuous chatter in my mind, even for a brief period of time.

And yes, I don’t feel the essence of time when I am in a meditation practice.

Thank you for reading!

Feel free to clap, respond and follow.

Have a nice day

--

--

Krish K
Word Garden

Exploring the world of writing l Lifelong learner l In search of meaning of life l Trying hard not to get overwhelmed