Do I Truly Love Her?

what’s the evidence?

Sean Mauleti
Word Garden
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2024

--

Photo by Abdul Gani M on Unsplash

It’s challenging to quantify something that is inherently unmeasurable. Has your partner ever inquired about your feelings? Given all the complexities involved, my girlfriend often asks me if I truly love her.

I always assure her, “Yes, I do love you, my love.” However, it’s difficult because I can’t assign a numerical value to my feelings. I can’t say, “I love you 9/10.” Such metrics don’t exist. Even if you try to quantify your feelings, you’re either guessing or making it up, and the number might be far from the truth.

So, how can one truly know if their partner is genuinely in love with them?

Today is her birthday, and I planned a beach outing. We enjoyed the sand, ice cream, waves, seagulls, and strawberries we bought out of boredom, the sky — everything. We relished each other’s presence and found joy in everything we did. Little did she know, I had another surprise party planned for her, which I successfully (sort of) pulled off!

When planning everything for her, I felt she was my everything. I see her as my world, a world I need to nurture, care for, and protect so she can become her best self in the future. I pray for her daily, hoping God knows I love her and helps me show that love.

--

--

Sean Mauleti
Word Garden

Writer, Thinker, Scientist, Part time Traveller, Full time Lover