Slow Learning Has Been My Weapon Against Imposter Syndrome

Experience over knowledge

Georgina Odafe
Word Garden

--

I used to feel dumb.

In total, I spent 13 years trying to reach the A2 level of the French language.

I told myself if I were really skilled, I wouldn’t spend this long learning.

Until I attended a French school last year.

Technically, we were at the same level, A1.

But before long, it became obvious that we weren’t the same.

Have you ever felt like a fraud because it takes you longer to learn something?

You’re not alone.

Many people feel like imposters because they think fast learners are more intelligent.

But what if the opposite is true?

Praising Speed Over Persistence

We live in a world that worships those who learn quickly.

I noticed something when I was a home tutor.

When one child learns to read earlier or faster than the other one, that child is praised.

They’re the geniuses.

--

--