Gamer Girl Expectations

Explained

Georgia Smart
Word Garden
4 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Photo by mahdi chaghari on Unsplash

As you probably know, I’m a gamer, and I absolutely love it. I averagely spend upwards of 3 hours per day gaming away.

I wouldn’t change that for the world and I am finally comfortable playing as a girl.

But it didn’t always used to be like that, there was a time way back when I started when my idea of being a girl gamer was different.

I believed to fit in I had to become like other girls, even do better than them.

Otherwise, If I wasn’t the typical idea of girls I would be told I’m catfishing, using a voice troll, or even names such as a pervert.

It wasn’t what I wanted, I wanted people to know, that you just died to a girl!

Girls expectations

When I think (yes a girl) about girls’ gaming I have a set idea of what I imagined they would be like:

  • Be wearing makeup while gaming
  • Wearing tight-cropped clothes, or an outfit of one of the game characters
  • Very loud and confident on the mic, including being a “pick-me girl”
  • Had a lot of friends who were boys
  • Weren’t that good at the game, but laughed about it and needed their friend’s help to support them.

These were what I thought a normal gaming girl would be like. I wanted to be that confident pretty girl I imagined but as I got a little older I realized that’s not normal.

The only place where this is true is in the place I wanted to begin my journey.

Streaming

When I began gaming I used to watch a few streamers, profoundly to see how to get better at the current game.

I watched some guy called “Typical Gamer” as I began playing Fortnite back in 2020.

All he did was stream walk-throughs of games which earned him a couple of thousand a month, then he streamed Fortnite and earned upwards of 10 million dollars.

I wanted that, so I started looking into how to become a streamer, it was completely different for a girl.

When I searched “girl gamer” I came across one type of girl on there:

  • Loud, confident, and giggly
  • Interacting with boys in chat
  • Pretending to not have a boyfriend to keep the views
  • Full face of makeup and cute outfit
  • Revealing outfits or cosplaying characters
  • Usually playing an easy game, they focus on simulation or group/party games.

So to be a streamer I had to first become all of this to finally be able to gain followers, as they were the popular ones.

I thought that an average gamer was a man, and men would rather watch a girl streaming looking like that, than in their pajamas with no makeup.

Although I wanted to be a streamer, I just thought that wasn’t for me, I didn’t want to be like that, and unless I was I would never be famous and earn money.

So my dreams of being a streamer ended before I even began.

Games

There are typical games that an average girl played, which again was completely different from me.

Let’s take the games I play, COD, Apex Legends, Fortnite, and Overwatch. As you can tell I like shooter games.

But these aren’t the average “girl game” which is Animal Crossing, Sims, I think you get the idea.

I always knew I was different as a gamer girl and always felt I didn’t Fit in, but recently I changed. I didn’t want to fit in and I didn’t care what others thought.

Breaking stereotypes

I decided to not fit in, I don’t Want to become what others are. I wanted to be like me.

Not trying to have a big head here but I am quite good at the games I play. I beat Carl Jeffers most of the time, especially in COD free-for-alls (usually followed by a t-bag) ;)

The best way to game is to turn off chat as I have spoken about in this previous article.

With gaming, there is a beauty where you can do whatever you like! I usually game with my snoodie and PJs on, eating cookies dipped in milk or tea. I’m always on call to my bf and feel I’m safe there!

What are your initial ideas of a girl gamer?

Thank you for reading! Please show your support in comments :)

Photo by rivage on Unsplash

--

--

Georgia Smart
Word Garden

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)