How I Healed My Skin Barrier in A Week

Ishika Roy
Word Garden
Published in
3 min readMar 21, 2024

Learn this trick and you’ll never have to worry about damaged skin barrier again

Photo by Rosa Rafael on Unsplash

Do you often suffer from splotchy red skin, dryness, or irritation? In adverse circumstances, even see small white pustules form all over your chin and cheeks? Applying anything on your skin makes it sting- be it moisturisers with actives or even your beloved sunscreen?

A couple of weeks ago, I found myself in a similar boat. My chin and nose were flaking up, and even applying aloe vera gel wasn't helping. I could feel a slight burning sensation on applying my cleanser or sunblock. Off the top of my head, I could only think of two possible reasons- the transitioning weather conditions in the city I was living in, and my accidental overexfoliation the week before.

Pune was getting increasingly dry with scorching hot mornings and drastically cooler evenings. There wasn’t a speck of moisture in the air. And well, my oily acne-prone skin generally loved salicylic acid treatments. Perhaps I’d gone slightly overboard with the new serum I’d incorporated into my routine.

Unfortunately, I’d ended up compromising my skin barrier. Considering this was happening just a week before my birthday, I was on the brink of slipping into sheer panic mode.

The first thing I did was cut down on all actives and treatments and revert to the basic CMS routine. Nothing went on my skin except for the gentlest cleanser, moisturizer and sunscreen. I used the Simple Refreshing face wash, FormulaRX Barrier Repair cream and DermaCo 1% Hyaluronic Acid sunscreen for a week straight.

No exfoliating ingredient was a part of any of these three products. I used the COSRX Snail Mucin essence the first few days, before stopping eventually. Even though it’s known for its soothing, repairing and anti-inflammatory properties, I didn’t want to take the risk and further the damage.

I also applied Boroline topically on certain areas that required extra attention. Widely popular in India for its healing properties, it is an antiseptic cream combining boric acid, zinc oxide and lanolin. This green tube has been passed down through generations to heal cuts and wounds, rashes and sunburns.

More than anything, it was the FormulaRX cream that did the magic. With ingredients like ceramides and colloidal oatmeal, it worked wonders in adding extra moisture and healing my skin barrier. So if you find yourself experiencing something similar, go for a moisturizer that is rich in ceramides and emollients, and will add a lot of moisture back to your skin.

Photo by Neauthy Skincare on Unsplash

Make sure it is NAFE safe, as in devoid of fragrance, denatured alcohol and essential oils as they might end up irritating your skin and delaying the healing process. In general, try to opt for products without fragrance and essential oils. Would you rather have pleasant-smelling creams that break you out or unscented ones that ensure hydrated, plump, glowing skin?

Remember, the trick to ensuring a healthy skin barrier is making sure it stays hydrated and is given the least amount of scope for irritation, be it through chemical exfoliation and treatments, sun damage or physical exertion such as tugging and pulling.

Pay close attention and learn how your skin reacts to certain ingredients, whether it takes well to your desired frequency of using a particular product and alter your routine accordingly. And if you ever end up making a mistake, ditch everything and go back to the basics.

All you need is some patience and faith that your skin will get better eventually. Our skin cells are constantly regenerating and healing themselves, so it’s only a matter of time before you go back to a smooth canvas that allows you to play around with your favourite actives and treatments for glowy, radiant skin!

Thanks for sticking around till the end.

You might also be interested in reading this piece I wrote:

--

--

Ishika Roy
Word Garden

I write about all things skincare, books and culture!