How I Would Make $15K in 30 Days if I Were Starting Over (As an Agency Owner)

This is for you if nobody knows about you or your business…

Joe Testouri
Word Garden
3 min readJun 8, 2024

--

Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

Ever been hit with a question that stops you in your tracks?

Well, a subscriber (let’s call him Author) recently dropped a bombshell:

“If someone was holding a gun to your head and told you that you had 30 days to make $15K with your business, what would you do?”

Talk about pressure, right?

But hey, I thrive on challenges.

Now, I’ve never had an actual gun to my head (thankfully!), but I’ve been in a similar tight spot. Back when I ditched the 9-to-5 grind and started my own agency, I needed to replace my monthly income fast.

So, what did I do?

Did I panic?

Nope.

Did I binge-watch YouTube videos?

Guilty as charged. But let’s just say, it didn’t quite move the needle.

Eventually, I cracked the code and landed five clients at $2K+ each, propelling me to $10K per month. That was over four years ago, and I’ve since fine-tuned the process.

So, if I were in that high-pressure situation again today, here’s the playbook I’d follow (spoiler alert: it works!):

1. Spend to Win

First things first, you need to invest some cash upfront. In one recent success story, we shelled out $1,000 per month on Instagram ads and reaped the rewards — 5,000 eager eyeballs on our client’s profile. That’s less than the price of a fancy coffee per visitor!

2. Turn Visitors into Fans

Out of those 5,000 profile visitors, 250 hit the ‘Follow’ button in just 30 days. These aren’t just any followers — they’re genuinely interested in what our client has to offer.

Turning visitors into fans is crucial because fans are much more likely to engage with your content and ultimately become paying clients.

3. Feed Them Value

Keep those followers engaged with killer content. Think YouTube videos, Instagram stories, and informative posts.

The goal is to provide so much value that your followers can’t help but see you as the go-to expert in your field. This builds trust and keeps your audience interested in what you have to offer.

4. Close the Deal

Now it’s time to convert those engaged followers into paying clients. Have a professional appointment setter sift through the leads, then swoop in for the close yourself.

In this case, our setter qualified 10% of the new followers, landing us 25 hot leads. With a 20% close rate, that’s five clients at $3K each.

$15K in 30 days! And all it took was a $1K investment.

Why This Works

This strategy works because it’s focused on quality over quantity. By targeting high-quality prospects and engaging them with valuable content, you’re more likely to convert them into clients.

Plus, by investing upfront in advertising, you’re able to quickly generate a large number of leads, which increases your chances of closing deals.

Now, this isn’t the only route to clientville…

…but if you’re feeling the heat and need quick cash, it’s a winner. Especially if you’re just starting out and don’t have the clout of the big guns in your industry.

Final Thoughts

Remember, failure and setbacks are part of the journey. Analyse what went wrong, adjust your strategy, and try again.

Each “failure” teaches you what not to do, bringing you closer to success. Little changes like this helped me scale my agency to $20K+ MRR.

If you want a step-by-step guide on how to scale your freelancing/agency business to $10K/Mo…

Check out my free $0 to $10K Agency Scaling Course.

Or follow me on Instagram: instagram.com/joetestouri

--

--

Joe Testouri
Word Garden

I share my agency knowledge to help you scale your agency business to $20K/Mo. The Founder of Bespoke Academy. Scaled my agency & coaching business to $40K/Mo.