How Small Comments Can Hurt

Even ones meant as jokes

Georgia Smart
Word Garden
3 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

From a young age I have struggled with how I see my body, there are parts that I have never liked, no matter how many times people tell me they don’t look bad.

To me it’s always been an issue even from a young age, and there has been times where I have tried to overlook them, but when your reminded through a small comment that can bring your world down.

Through school I never had any friends, I was bullied from age 6 to about 15, no matter changing school.

The bullies had their comments to make, but they didn’t seem To bother me as much. Of course they were going to insult with the usual insults.

“Your fat”

“Your ugly”

“You have no friends”

But it’s when people you don’t expect say comments that can really make you insecure.

I sat next to a girl in class, we spoke a little and she was nice, we didn’t hang out after class but for the time we talked, I remember she asked me one time a question.

It was about my mouth, I have always struggled with this as I have a different smile to others. She asked in a way that wasn’t just curious.

So how come you look like donkey from shrek

It was meant as a joke, she was only about 11 and was well known for being confident and just saying the wrong thing.

But it’s 10 years later, and I still remember it.

I have had many more comments and they all stand out to me, it’s hard to overcome the issue if you are made to remember them.

Adults have asked about my smile, reminding me that I’m different, so have some people I would think are friends aswell.

To me these comments are big things, they are telling me that other people notice my mouth too and it’s not just me, making me more hurt.

I’m not saying people shouldnt ask questions, but when you do it’s important to think is the question going to hurt someone?

I’m sure you can think back to a time, when someone has said something about you, which has took you by suprise.

It’s human nature to be curious and ask questions but some are inappropriate for some situations.

People will tell you the answers you have if you be patient and get their trust like I do, while other people might just never speak about it.

But asking only makes it worse. I find there are a lot of times through life when comments aren’t made In a bad way, and that’s not a bad thing.

I don’t like to ask about people’s different fashion sense, insecurities or traits as upsetting people isn’t a nice feeling.

I hope that talking about this can help people try and not point out aspects of people, as it does suck.

Saying that, I have probably said things that have upset or hurt people, but it’s all about learning from your mistakes.

Have you ever said a hurtful comment by accident?

Thank you for reading :)

Photo by Warren on Unsplash

--

--

Georgia Smart
Word Garden

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)