How to Build Rich and Immersive Worlds in Your Writing

MartinRaymondo
Word Garden
Published in
1 min readJul 2, 2024
Immersive worlds draw the readers in — photo created by the author using Copilot

One writer who does this fantastic is J.K. Rowling in the Harry Potter series. Her use of description and words creates this beautiful setting that makes you want to be a part of it. I’m unsure what she does to build this, but it may come naturally. What I do is make a scene or a world where I believe I am a part of. When I write my murder mystery or romance novels for other authors, I need to be present and think about what I am writing for that to work. If you can’t imagine it, you’re in big trouble, as the reader won’t be able to connect. It’s like having an imaginary friend in a fantasy world with you; in this case, it’s multiple characters and settings. This brings about a rich and immersive setting as it comes alive in your mind. You would be better served using your words to bring these settings into a more vibrant place than to fill up your word count. I’m excited to start on my new murder mystery book and see where it leads me with no word restrictions.

--

--