How To Get Your Old Readers Back

Georgia Smart
Word Garden
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2024

A couple of tips you need to hear

Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

When you have been on Medium for a while you learn a couple of tips and tricks of the trade. I would classify myself as still a newbie around here but the knowledge I have of this app is a lot.

Here are a couple of pointers on how you can get back the amount of readers you used to have, compared to the lower amount we all seem to be hit by recently.

I for one have dropped a lot of readers, but with these tips, I aim to get them back over a couple of weeks.

Personality

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Now we can’t all be the funniest people in the world, but what we can do is inject the mundane boring article you’re currently writing with some realism and human touches.

You’re not a robot, so don’t write like one. Share facts about your life, so your reader learns to understand you, learns things about you, and has a connection with you.

This is something I struggle with, as I am a fairly private person, I don’t Like to tell people too much as past experiences just lead to my information being shared.

But moving forward I aim to let my readers know a bit more about me.

Hope

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I know this sounds like a useless skill but having hope is really important, you need a strong mindset to keep going even on those days when you haven’t even got 1 single clap.

I struggle with this, I overanalyze my stats and just think of the negatives of them, but I need to realize that each time I write, I gain writing skills and a better understanding of words.

I talk about having a positive mindset a lot, it’s important to your success.

Did you know 95% of writers quit in their first month due to overanalyzing their stats?

I didn’t know this, so to be at this stage, with you reading my work, you are one of the many few who stayed here.

Now let’s get to how your writing can change, here’s a few ways

  • Grammatically correct
  • Structured work
  • Adding statistics
  • Catchy title

These are all things that we have done before, and have focused on, but have you recently been prioritizing them as much as they need to be?

Without a title your work is nothing.

Take a minute to fully understand that, that defines all your work in a couple of words, so choose wisely.

When writing you learn so much, and when putting together all that information you won’t ever be the perfect writer, as everyone likes different things.

But it’s important To be the best of your ability!

Thank you for reading! Please clap if you enjoyed this read :)

Photo by Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

--

--

Georgia Smart
Word Garden

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)