I am Returning to YouTube! (4,000+ Subscribers)

My content creation journey continues

Donovan Michel
Word Garden
3 min readFeb 25, 2024

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Alright guys…yesterday I had a revelation.

I saw a YouTube video yesterday that changed my entire perspective about written content IN ADDITION to audio-visual content.

The man who created the video is James Julian. He talked about how you only need 2 social media platforms to start your social media journey. Here they are:

  1. Medium
  2. YouTube

The reasoning behind these 2 platforms is simple. You are able to write about your YouTube content and post YouTube videos about your Medium content. This blends the written content with the audio-visual content really well.

The goal is to get people who read your Medium articles to become interested enough to start watching your YouTube videos, and vice versa.

So how does this apply to me?

Well, I’ve been writing on Medium for 62 days now and I started my YouTube journey back in 2015!!

That’s right, I have been doing YouTube for almost a decade! I must be getting old…..

Anyways, I used to record and upload Minecraft videos to my YouTube channel. I stopped uploading Minecraft content a while ago. Throughout my YouTube journey, I gained a following of over 4,000 subscribers!

The bad news is that many of those subscribers aren’t interested in the type of videos I want to upload now. However, there is GOOD NEWS!

I am MONETIZED on YouTube. I honestly can’t believe I haven’t been capitalizing on this opportunity sooner.

One of the most time consuming parts about YouTube creation is the time spent outlining your videos. You need to think of an idea, expand upon that idea, and write down everything you want to talk about in the video.

The great part about Medium is I have SO MUCH content that I have already written about. I have written over 50 articles and I could turn any of those articles into a YouTube video!

I basically have an ecosystem of my own ideas stored on the Medium platform. I see this as a great opportunity to turn those written ideas into audio-visual content.

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My YouTube audience may be a bit dead, but that doesn’t mean I can’t rebuild it! I am inspired by James. He gave me a different perspective on the potential I have with YouTube.

I don’t need to overcomplicate it. I need to simply take action and use content that I’ve already created!!

What are your thoughts on these ideas?? I look forward to hearing what you all have to say!

If you’re interested in my YouTube channel, I will leave the link below:

My YouTube Channel (4,000+ subs): youtube.com/@BumpyPlayss

Thank You for reading! :)

Don’t forget to check out my YouTube channel for epic YouTube videos!

--

--