I Purchased Friend of Medium, Here’s Why I Upgraded

Donovan Michel
Word Garden
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2024
Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

It’s no secret that being a Friend of Medium doesn’t help you as a writer.

Or does it?

For the record, I became a Friend of Medium on February 17th, 2024. I am very curious to see how this will change things, if anything changes at all.

Let’s break down what being a Friend of Medium does for me:

Paying $5.00 per month gives you a lot of benefits on Medium. But paying the additional $10.00 per month only gives you two more benefits.

So why did I upgrade?

I am doing an experiment. I want to know how being a Friend of Medium influences me as a writer. Being a Friend of Medium will encourage me to read more articles on the platform.

Reading more articles will translate to more engagement on people’s posts. More engagement will translate to more potential readers for my own articles.

In theory, if paying the additional $10.00 per month disciplines me to spend more time on the platform engaging with other people and building a network of friends, then that is totally worth it!

It’s a different perspective and a unique way to look at the Friend of Medium purchase. However, I think my theory makes sense. I will not only be reading more, but I will be writing more.

I will make more friends.

I’m encouraged by my purchase. Not to mention the monetary benefit I will be providing to other writers. People notice Friends of Medium and it captures people’s attention in the comments of posts.

I am excited to read more. I will learn more information. It’s vital that I apply what I learn.

Medium has opened the door for so many opportunities for me. I am excited to share those opportunities with you in future articles. But for now, that’s all I have to say.

Thank You for reading!

Subscribe to my newsletter here. It’s free!

--

--

Donovan Michel
Word Garden

Donovan is a financial coach helping everyday people with personal finance. Learn more about Donovan's coaching here: https://linktr.ee/donovanmichel