I Read Death to Be Grateful

She lost him and taught me a lesson.

Mehak Adlakha
Word Garden
2 min readMay 29, 2024

--

I was reading Chelsea’s story of losing her father and it just flooded with so many feelings right when I finished reading it.

Life is a one-time journey, live it well. | Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Life can be difficult and unpredictable.

You never know when you will wake up to shocking news, whether happy or sad.

This reminded me that life is unexpected and full of rollercoasters for each of us.

What is a huge deal for me can be a great life for someone else. Some may crave the basic things I have, while I crave things some people don’t care much about.

That’s life — different for everyone but difficult in its own ways.

Life has phases as ups and downs. If one phase is super happy, another can make you tremble your legs. But in the end, all phases pass to welcome another.

Just like the moon, we go through phases. | Photo by Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

This too shall pass.

What matters is to be happy, and happiness is something only you can control for yourself.

No one can make you unhappy if you don’t let them. You control how you react to situations and people. You choose to be dissatisfied or to be happy with what you have.

Today, I am feeling grateful for what I have.

A loving father, an overly caring mother, a protective brother, a happy family, an awesome partner, a good career, friends, and my whole environment.

Everything and everyone around me is great. I have more to achieve in life, but so far, what God has given me is more than I ever expected, and I am thankful for that.

I will cherish all phases of my life, happy or sad because they all made my life as it is — rollercoaster, adventurous, motivational, and enjoyable.

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all. | Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

If you liked this content, kindly drop 50 claps! 😊

Subscribe here to never miss any updates from the author.

--

--

Mehak Adlakha
Word Garden

26 | Owner of 'The Live. Love. Laugh Pub' | Software Engineer @ Microsoft, India | Tech Explorer and Life Enthusiast.