I Read the Bible Every Day in January, Here are the Results

My goal is to read the entire Bible in 2024

Donovan Michel
Word Garden
3 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

I did it.

I wrote a post 1 month ago that talked about my Bible reading plan for 2024.

I am going to read the entire Bible in 2024.

It has been 1 month…how am I doing?

Not bad!

I am a little behind, but not by much!

I am currently on Exodus 1.

I am supposed to be on Exodus 10.

I am supposed to be on Ephesians 2.

I am on Ephesians 1.

I have finished the following books:

  • Mark
  • Genesis
  • Galatians

I am also fully caught up on the book of Psalms.

My Bible reading plan doesn’t work chronologically.

It is broken into 3 sections:

  • Old Testament
  • New Testament
  • The Book of Psalms

For example, I am currently reading the book of Exodus (Old Testament).

I am also reading Ephesians (New Testament).

And finally, I read 1 Psalm every other day.

This diversifies the type of reading I do throughout the year.

It allows the reading plan to be more engaging and less daunting of a task.

I like this plan a lot.

It has given me so much new knowledge about the Bible, especially the information from the Old Testament.

There are 50 chapters in Genesis.

I have read them all.

I am stoked to be done with the first book of the Bible.

I have read the entire book of Mark.

The plan started with Genesis and Mark.

The Psalms are a continuous series that goes throughout the year.

I am very excited with my progress.

Have I read every day?

Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

Not exactly.

I’ve read on most days.

But I haven’t read enough each day.

I find myself reading for 10 minutes on most days.

Around 25–30 minutes of reading is required each day to stay on track with the plan.

This makes it difficult when I fall behind.

However, showing up each day is great.

Putting God first each day is great.

I am blessed to have the opportunity to own a Bible and be able to freely read the books within the covers.

I am blessed to be able to talk to God every single day.

Thank you Lord for this opportunity to share my journey on Medium.

It means a lot.

I look forward to February’s reading.

I’m excited to continue learning more about Him.

I look forward to the growth and knowledge I will gain from this plan.

Until next time,

— Donny

Thank You for reading! :)

Subscribe to my newsletter here.

--

--

Donovan Michel
Word Garden

Donovan is a financial coach helping everyday people with personal finance. Learn more about Donovan's coaching here: https://linktr.ee/donovanmichel