I’m Going Husband Shopping

Should I have a list of what I want in a potential partner?

Victoria Nwachukwu
Word Garden
3 min readApr 1, 2024

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I’ve never been one to fantasize about the idea of a wedding or married life. I found it strange that that was a thing among young girls (I wonder if that is a thing among guys). At least I didn’t grow up in that era where the girl child is raised solely in view of her role in a marriage.

Photo by saeed karimi on Unsplash

I confess that lately, I find myself thinking of these kind of girl stuff. I’m surprised myself not only that, I also find myself binging on a bunch of ‘how we met and how God wrote a story’ on YouTube. Maybe I should take this as a sign that I might be tying the knot soon(lol).

Photo by Jeremy Wong Weddings on Unsplash

While watching these videos one thing I couldn’t ignore among other things was the concept of having a list of the things you want in a potential partner.

Photo by Torbjørn Helgesen on Unsplash

THE LIST
I think that we all somewhat have a list containing traits we'd like our potential partner to have either written or available as a mental picture. This list is supposed to give us an idea of the negotiables and non-negotiables. If not how would we recognize what we want when it shows up?
Think of it as going grocery shopping, a list helps you go about that task more efficiently. It helps you identify what's most important and what you'd rather leave out of the list.

Suffice it to say that having a list is a good thing, right? Save that some people become too rigid with their list. Their list becomes a symbol of perfection and judgment. So, much so that anything other than that would seem to them as settling for less. The very thing that was supposed to aid us becomes a burden. Regardless finding someone that ticks all the boxes is not impossible.

Our list, sometimes, is only a reflection of where we are and where we've been and often leaves little or no room for who and where we'll be in the coming years. Because we do not have much control over the specifics of the future.

While a list could help put your desires in o
perspective, it is important not to major on the minors and minor on the majors.

Do you have a written list of what you’d want in a potential partner or you trust your heart to recognize what it wants when it sees it?

If you enjoyed this post kindly give it some claps. You can clap up to 50 if you want.

--

--

Victoria Nwachukwu
Word Garden

I am a creative writer, songwriter, and singer. I capture the in-betweens of life in words and say the things too heavy for the lips with my pen.