I’m Not Good Enough For Medium

I guess my days on here are numbered

Georgia Smart
Word Garden
2 min readMay 11, 2024

--

Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

I began on Medium back halfway through February and had high hopes. I have seen others on here earning thousands a month, having pop-off posts, and making a community around them.

Since then I have worked hard, for over a month I wrote 3 articles a day, without fail. One in the morning, one in the evening, and the last one was just before I went to bed.

I didn’t appear to be getting anywhere, I averagely earned 50 reads a day when others got into the hundreds.

Comparing myself to others was something I have always done, I just wanted to see some reward for the level of commitment I put in.

I never got it, I struggled with motivation, and I had none as I spent hours on here for cents some days.

A break occurred, and after a couple of days, I came back with a different mindset, a positive look, and hope.

Yesterday I earned 52 cents

My posts don’t really do well, I struggle to get comments and the claps are rare. I average 200 claps and 1–2 comments which is simply disappointing.

Others I know on this app have had many “pop off posts” I haven’t Had one, I got boosted and that gave me views and one of my other posts slowly got higher as it was a top pick of my boyfriend’s pub.

I haven’t had a day where I do well, I just feel like “What’s the point”

Is it worth me staying on here when I am not getting enough money compared to the workload?

Medium is very hit-and-miss and I have learned that the hard way, but while others are gaining followers and getting a good day, I haven’t for Weeks.

Here are my stats for this month:

Authors Image

I don’t think I have what it takes to be a writer, do you ever feel like this?

Thank you for reading :)

Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

--

--

Georgia Smart
Word Garden

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)