Is Karma a Negative or Positive Word for You?

Melissa Herzog
Word Garden
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2024

--

Photo by Melissa Herzog

Does Karma bite you back?

I wonder if you believe in Karma. I do.

Everyday, especially in my travels, when I am out and about more, I try to remember to complement someone. Say something nice to a person. You may think they are too distracted or too moody to approach, but you would be surprised.

When you do have positive interaction, it puts a smile on their face . It shows you took your time and noticed them. Its saying I like you, even if you are only complementing their necklace or the color of their eyes.

Yesterday, as we waited for a car rental, there was only one employee. She was working hard helping everyone, and it was starting to wear thin in her attitude.

When it was our turn, she barely looked up from her desk as I greeted her and told her what we needed. After I told her what kind of car we were hoping for, I complemented her on her beautiful glittery nails. She looked up, smiled and graciously said thank you. It changed her whole demeanor. I could see some pressure slipping off her shoulders. And best of all, she wasn’t expecting it.

Have you ever had someone say, you just made my day or they made yours? Can you imagine if we lived in a world like that?

--

--

Melissa Herzog
Word Garden

Family, writing and travel are my passions. Former Travel Agent with years of experience in planning travel and adventure. Come along with me on my journeys.