Limits To Lifts: Shattering Stereotypes On My Journey To Strength

Thahaseen
Word Garden
Published in
3 min readJan 24, 2024
Photo by Victor Freitas on Unsplash

Since I was young, I have had no exposure to fitness. The only time I play sports was during school and around my neighbourhood. Since then, I have fallen in love with sports.

During Physical Education (PE) sessions, sometimes our coach will have us to check our Body Mass Index (BMI).

That is when tragic started happening to me…

My BMI was showing that I was overweight.

Since then, I started feeling insecure about how I look. Obviously it affected the way I felt about myself.

I mean, I was a teenager right. What else can we expect?

But just note, I was not feeling insecure about the number that BMI showed me. But I was feeling insecure about how I will appear in people’s eyes.

How did that strong negative value enter into a teenager’s mind?

How did this strong negative value hold back a teenager for 7 years?

We all know the answer. It is society’s expectations.

It is how society wants men and women to look and be a certain way that is so-called “accepted” in the beauty standards.

But when we look at recent times, many men and women are starting to step out to address these society’s norms. I am one of them too.

I thank them for their bravery.

I thank them for their voice.

As this strong negative value was plastered in my heart, body, and soul for 7 years, I started hearing about fitness.

In fitness, it is a lifelong journey. It is not a get-fit-quick scheme. That is nonsense.

Certain people in my circle were into fitness. I watch them work out. I admired their determination, and I still do.

That is when I thought: I want to have that confidence. I want to have that self-discipline. I want to have that motivation. For that, I need to work as hard as them.

Now, I had to choose my pain. It’s either the pain of regret, or the pain of self-discipline.

I chose the pain of self-discipline. But trust me, it was not that easy.

From then, I started working on my fitness journey.

As someone once said,

“It will take 1 month for you to notice the change. It will take 3 months for your circle to notice the change. It will take 6 months for the world to notice the change.”

I will never forget this.

Today, I am still working on my fitness journey. There are many things to be improved.

I just want to share one main thing. If you want something badly, you have to work for it. Double or triple the times. By sitting and thinking about it, you would not magically get abs or an overflowing bank account.

Everything requires work.

If you have read until the end, I can surely say that you are looking for something meaningful out of your life.

Continue exploring. You can slow down but do not stop.

Let me just continue exploring great ways to enhance your life in a better way.

I will see you in my next post.

✨Best ways I can help you:

  1. Subscribe to me today and learn proven and actionable self-development hacks you rarely see anyone discussing!
  2. Download my exclusive and free guidebook where I share 99 messages that will help you rise from any adversities!

--

--

Thahaseen
Word Garden

I talk about personal growth, business, and writing.