My Morning Newspaper Is Sheer Garbage From Day 0

Krish K
Word Garden
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2024

The unpleasant transformation of print journalism

Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Is it safe to say the golden era of print journalism is over?

The answer seems to be an inevitable Yes.

My close friend Subu and I were talking the other day about how journalism has changed since our childhood.

By the way, as a 90s kid in India, Subu was recalling his teen years and how he used to maintain a journal of general knowledge while watching NEWS on TV and reading a newspaper.

And now we get to listen to a certain media house’s opinion both in newspapers and on our digital devices.
It is warping our minds by excessive politicization of almost anything.

If I’m talking about India, far-right political ideologies have exerted an excessive influence on our media outlets. Capitalism has become so widespread in practically every part of society, and my newspaper has emerged as the most prominent marketing tool for enterprises.

Undoubtedly, all media institutions have become profit-driven in recent years. The irony is that they have abandoned the essential values of journalism and are now acting as social media influencers.

For instance, When I opened the newspaper today, the front page was full of advertisements for Amazon’s business day celebration.

I was like, “WTF!” Why is my newspaper directing me to buy items that I do not want?

Where is the news?!

It looks like all of them have been converted into content and are being served to us via digital media for no good.

My newspaper’s reputation has suffered as a consequence, and individuals like me who merely want to know what’s going on around them are extremely disappointed.

Final thoughts

In the last decade, digital media has revolutionized the way we consume news. In an era where you are constantly bombarded with so-called breaking news, it has become extremely difficult for print media to compete with political ideologies and powerful corporations.

I find it difficult to find a genuine piece of information nowadays. With so many viewpoints floating around, it is becoming an exhausting process.

Yesterday, I made the decision to discontinue my newspaper subscription beginning next month for the very same reason, ending this bittersweet relationship of more than 10 years.

Thank you for reading!

Feel free to clap, respond and follow.

Have a nice day

--

--

Krish K
Word Garden

Exploring the world of writing l Lifelong learner l In search of meaning of life l Trying hard not to get overwhelmed