‘Reverse Thinking’ Turbo-charged My Writing: How You Can Too

Avoiding stupidity is easier than seeking brilliance

Anand P
Word Garden
3 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Generated by AI on Freepik

My job sucked.

It’s been six months since I had that realisation. I kept imagining the day when I would walk up to my boss and say the magic words, “Open Sesame.” No, wait, that was not it.

“I quit." Yes, that’s what I meant.

The problem was that I kept waiting for a genius plan to make that a reality. And one day, while I was doom-scrolling on the good ol’ internet, I came across the term 'reverse thinking’.

Photo by Nathalie LV on Unsplash

The Magic of Inversion

Rather than focus on a genius plan to leave, it forced me to think about actions that would keep me miserable at work :

  • Being in my comfort zone
  • Finding another job but with similar work
  • Dreaming about quitting without having a backup plan
  • Not focusing on things that drive me
  • Not exploring an alternate career path
  • Not working towards my goals daily

Looking at this list suddenly shook me out of my inaction as I realised I was making it worse. I immediately decided to flip the situation and started working on the following:

  • Getting out of the mindset of a salaried employee
  • I stopped looking for similar jobs that would be easier to get but I would still be miserable
  • Re-ignited my age-old love for writing
  • I decided to become a part-time creator along with my 9-to-5 and scale that up before quitting
  • I committed myself to work on the side-hustle daily

This is the process that got me on the journey to finding my own voice by writing on Medium. I realised that there are many more like me, and I have decided to share my insights to help others find theirs.

Using inversion to write

This method has also helped with my writing. When approaching a new topic or problem I am writing about, I consider the reverse thinking approach to common beliefs. This involves:

  • Taking a problem
  • Flipping it to make it lot worse
  • Think about ways to avoid that

Let's work with an example here.

  • The Problem: Procrastination and Ways to Solve It?
  • Flip the common belief (inverse thinking): How to make it worse?

Have a lot of tabs, multitask, have phone near you, have YouTube on, and don’t focus on steps involved to get something done

  • Avoid this behaviour

Just have one tab, do one task, put phone away, have no distraction and be clear on how you are going to complete the task

Inversion is a powerful thinking tool because it puts a spotlight on errors and roadblocks that are not obvious at first glance.

What if the opposite was true? What if I focused on a different side of this situation? Instead of asking how to do something, ask how to not do it.

As Shane Parrish, the mental model expert, said in his much-acclaimed blog, Farnam Street:

Inverting the problem won’t always solve it, but it will help you avoid trouble. You can think of it as the avoiding stupidity filter. It’s not sexy but it’s a very easy way to improve.

--

--

Anand P
Word Garden

Writer, Banker, Dog Parent, Diplomatic Spouse. I am finding my own voice and sharing learnings in self-improvement, psychology, content creation, and writing