Settling In Medium as a Newbee

Analysis of my least-performing and highest-performing posts

Diary of a Thirty Something
Word Garden
2 min readApr 8, 2024

--

Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

Not a member? Read my story here.

Last month was all about experiments. I didn’t expect people to read what I wrote. But lucky for me, I got 156 reads.

Screenshot taken by author

For some people, it might not be enough. I’ve seen screenshots with twice as many reads. There are multiple factors involved in that:

1- People are posting more.

2- They’re posting in bigger publications.

3- They’re already part of a big reader’s group or they know editors.

Many people think that writing about writing itself gets them more reads.

For me, it’s the opposite.

I tried posting about writing, but my posts didn’t do well compared to other topics I believed in. You can see for yourself:

Screenshot by author
https://medium.com/word-garden/7-things-i-learnt-from-dan-brown-5e5e232dd903
Screenshot by author

Here’s What I Learnt

  • People know if you put your heart into a story they respond equally well.
  • If you know a story deserves to be told, it’ll do great.
  • Your title and feature image says a lot about the story. Think about it.
  • Don’t worry about the views all the time. Yes, views bring the earnings. But eventually one day that viewer might feel a bit sympathetic and decide to stay for thirty seconds.
  • DO NOT STOP.

Here are my top-performing stories:

I Healed When I Listened to My Body

Romanticizing Rain

I Made This Mistake and Messed up My Read Ratio

You’re One Fake Smile Away from Success

I don’t know what this month will bring for me. I don’t know what I should write about. The start of the month didn’t look good but fingers crossed. See you guys around.

--

--

Diary of a Thirty Something
Word Garden

Marketing Geek. I believe your stories help you build the best possible brand.