WRITER’S PERSPECTIVE ON MEDIUM

Should You Be Really Happy if You Get More Claps

There is no hidden secret in here

Krish K
Word Garden

--

Photo by Samuel Regan-Asante on Unsplash

Is your mind making things complicated for you every single day, just like mine?

Yesterday I was on the way to my regular grocery store to buy toothpaste. I found it surprisingly closed at 6.30 pm.

So, I went to the other one, which was just a 300-meter walk.

While standing on the aisle, I saw two different types of toothpaste on the shelf rack. My regular toothpaste was out of stock.

First, I thought, Oh! What a day it is! Nothing is going according to plan.
Now I have an important task to choose between those two. One is ayurvedic, and the other is chemical.

For those who are not familiar with the term ayurvedic, they can simply assume it comes from plant-based products. It is just like herbal products with a holistic approach. It is a common word that we use in our everyday lives here in India.

While standing on that aisle, I missed my wife, Mimi, who could have made this decision much easier as she is an expert in bringing household items.

It was my terrible luck that she went to her parents for a couple of days.

Anyway, I had to complete the task of bringing a toothpaste all by myself. I started analyzing the pros and cons of the two.

One is ayurvedic, which will save me from the negative side-effects of minerals such as fluoride. On the other hand, I have a chemical toothpaste that has antibacterial properties.

At that very moment, my phone rang. It was an office call. I picked up the call by going outside of the store.

After attending, that not-so-important call, I decided to go back to my home. In the process, I didn’t bother with the purpose for which I was there in the first place.

An evening of self-realization

After finishing dinner by 9 pm, I was browsing news on YouTube on my 48-inch wall-hung screen. As I was alone in my home, I was planning to watch the last installment of Fifty Shades series.

At that very moment, I found my alter ego sitting beside me on the couch.

(Well, not literally, but you get the point.)

Alter Ego: Why didn't you bring the toothpaste?

Me: I can manage one day without it. Tomorrow, I will go and definitely buy it.

Alter Ego: This is the problem with you. You take things casually; you don’t bother to finish things on time. Thats the reason you are losing your productivity and being inconsistent the other days.

It's true.

Sometimes our mind plays tricks on us. It gives the mind some sort of identification.

I might have bought the toothpaste instead of overanalyzing the situation. It was just a simple act, but all I did was create a narrative in my mind, which was not very useful.

Final thoughts

If you have managed to come to this point of the story, then you might have already caught the message.

Should you be happy if you get more claps for your story on Medium?

Yes, definitely.

You must acknowledge those couple of seconds of happiness.

That is one of the greatest perks of being a human being. You don’t need to overanalyze the situation. You don’t need to catch up with your mind’s curiosity. You can just be happy.

Happiness will drive you immensely towards your goal, and you are most likely to achieve it eventually.

Thank you for reading.

Have a nice day!

--

--

Krish K
Word Garden

Exploring the world of writing l Lifelong learner l In search of meaning of life l Trying hard not to get overwhelmed