Sometimes You Write a Shitty Story. Get Up and Move On.

Don’t write stories daily you are not proud of. The algorithm god is not worth your soul.

Rick Par
Word Garden
3 min readApr 27, 2024

--

Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

There are days that I am happy with the stories I have written. I finish, I am satisfied. There is an interesting concept, a message I wanted to convey, and a satisfying conclusion. And to top it off, after I publish it, there is a strong positive reaction.

And then there are times when I am writing and writing, but with each sentence I hate my story more, with each paragraph I hope I can recover but fail.

I would be better off scrapping the whole thing and starting from scratch, but it is 1am and I’m tired. Which, of course, is a self-fulfilling prophecy because there is no way I won’t write garbage at 1am.

I click publish even though I am unhappy with the product. I am certain the story won’t do well. I question all my life choices as I put myself to bed.

And then the next day comes and I have to deal with knowing that I made that awful decision to publish a dog turd.

There is so much pressure to write daily on Medium. Something about the algorithm everybody keeps talking about. I don’t understand it exactly, but from what I understand Medium promotes writers that churn stories out daily. I am not even sure if it is true but it sure seems true.

And there is a lot to say about this. I am sure Medium does reward writers who churn out stories daily to an extent, and writing daily will also helps grow a back catalogue faster.

But it can also lead to creating content that is not exactly FDA approved. When I look back at my content, there are a few that give me an upset tummy.

It is so easy for me to hate myself in this moment. To reflect and think about how I succumbed to the pressure to ‘post every day’ at the cost of quality. The kind of person I might be becoming. And I realize something huge. I didn’t publish a dog turd. The truth is I am the dog turd.

I have become the person that values quantity over quality. The person that wants to write to make a quick buck rather than write because of a love of the craft. The kind of person who would sell my soul to the devil for a candy bar.

But of course, this is not the reality. I am not a dog turd for deciding to publish something I am not proud of. Nor am I a bad person because I was tempted by the allure of making money on Medium.

I am human. Warts and all. Flawed and capable of making wrong decisions.

From now on if a story is not where I want it to be, it can hangout in the drafts for a while. I can come back to it another day when something in my head clicks and I realize how to make to make it work. Or maybe I won’t figure it out and it can sit in limbo for all of eternity. That is okay too.

The only thing I can do is learn and do better next time.

Photo by Alice Dietrich on Unsplash

Don’t get me wrong, I can and will write more bad stories. It is inevitable.

But if I do write bad stories, let it be because I am growing and improving as a writer and am trying things out. Experimenting. Taking risks that fail. Don’t let it be because I am trying to appease some algorithm god.

I didn’t come to Medium to satisfy an algorithm. I came to Medium because it was a place I could hone my craft, get feedback from others, and be part of a community. I’m guessing the same is true for you. Don’t be tempted by the idea of continually churning out new product if the product is garbage.

The algorithm is not worth your soul.

--

--