The Dreamer’s Journey.

Miebaka Bipibama
Word Garden
Published in
4 min readFeb 23, 2024

Ojo’s Journey of Literature, Love, and Legacy

Photo by Mukuko Studio on Unsplash

It’s been twenty long years, yet it feels like only yesterday. Coming from being a struggling boy armed with just a dream to becoming a Nobel Laureate and having everything a man could possibly want. My name is Ojo, and this has been my journey so far.

‘Ojọgbọn!’ my mother would call, as she knows that while I was physically present, my mind had wandered, lost on some epic adventure to conquer the world, much like the heroes in my comic cartoons would. Mama was a single mother and a nurse living in Port Harcourt. She had a talent for singing and always spoke about the value of education. So, surely, when the time came, she ensured I got into school. I was the quiet one at school, so I buried myself in books since I didn’t have many friends.

A keen-eyed teacher, Mr. Jonah, noticed I usually go to the library during breaks, where I take my time to dive into literature books as they were fascinating to me. He then introduced me to great works of literature like ‘The Great Gatsby’ and books by William Shakespeare. Fueled by his encouragement, I applied for and got a scholarship to study English literature at Cambridge University. Fast forward: at Cambridge, I rose to become somewhat of a literature genius,such that I began writing articles and more for international bodies, which earned me accolades and further recognition for my works. Throughout, I never forgot Mr. Jonah; I kept on writing to him about my latest works and any issues I encountered. Mr. Jonah, God bless him, was my support, always encouraging me through it all.

Photo by Tamarcus Brown on Unsplash

All of a sudden, his letters stopped. I thought it was a delay from the postman. but months turned into years, and I tried contacting him to no avail. After 2 years, I received a letter, and I was ecstatic when I realised it came from Mr. Jonah’s address, written by Ebi Jonah, his daughter. However, that excitement turned to tears when I learned that Mr. Jonah had died of heart failure in his sleep. His daughter, Ebi, after her father’s burial, found my letters when helping her mother arrange the house and reached out to share the sad news. Oh, was I heartbroken. Quickly, I wrote back, offering my condolence and asked to give my last respects. A few weeks later, I was on a flight headed for Nigeria.

Meeting Mrs.Shelly Jonah and Ebi, I shared stories of how Mr. Jonah’s influence had made a huge impact on me. Ebi took me to the burial site, where I paid my respects. Even in my sorrowful mood, I couldn’t help but be taken by Ebi’s beauty. “Oh mehn, God, finish work here,” hmmm mmm ( I clear my throat, trying to regain my composure). Two days later, I said my goodbyes, exchanged contacts, and returned to the UK to resume my life.

Fast forward six months, and Ebi and I were like peas in a pod, chatting about everything under the sun. Ebi was intelligent, caring, and a wonderful friend. On June 12, 2011, I received a letter from the Nobel Foundation informing me that I had been nominated to become a Nobel Prize laureate for achievements in the field of literature! Bursting with excitement, I quickly called Ebi, and she was ecstatic. And so, I made arrangements for her to attend the special event.

Photo by Anastacia Dvi on Unsplash

On the big day, Ebi beamed with joy and pride all through as I was being awarded a Nobel Prize laureate. Looking at her, all cheery and happy, I knew right then that I wanted nothing more than to be with her for the rest of my life. Fast forward to 2021: I and Ebi are married with two kids, William and Karen, and we’ve never been happier than we are now. We returned to Nigeria, where we built and now live in our country home in Port Harcourt. Reminiscing on everything as I sit here on the balcony, soaking in the cool evening breeze, I can’t help but smile, thanking God for such an amazing journey so far.

Please consider looking at some of my other work.

My Other Works:

--

--

Miebaka Bipibama
Word Garden

I'm here to air my thoughts on [Life's lessons, Mental health, Well-Being]