The Hard Truths of Being a Freelance Writer

The unspoken truths of freelancing as a writer.

Megan Sokoli
Word Garden

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Freelancing writing isn’t a career path that you can easily define. We wear many hats and can offer many services.

In general, freelance writers produce content on behalf of businesses. The writing could be informative, professional, friendly, or salesy. A freelance writer might write an ebook one week and a bunch of blog posts the next. The career path is loose, which is a massive bonus.

Becoming a freelance writer can be fulfilling if you enjoy freedom in writing. You can dive into various topics and explore your many writing passions. Or, you can choose one niche and one format and be satisfied.

The world can be your oyster when you are a freelancer… if you know how to juggle the downsides.

Overall, I am highly satisfied with my career. I have been a freelance writer since 2014, when my personal blog brought in clients and various opportunities. I’m still here today because I love what I do and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

But the freelancing world isn’t what you might think. It isn’t all positive and rosy. There are hard truths about freelance writing.

--

--