The Harmony of Hobbies: Beekeeping and Writing

Discover the Synergy of Nature and Creativity

Olivia Reed
Word Garden
5 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Photo by Damien TUPINIER on Unsplash

The morning sun streams through the window, waking me to the day’s symphony. Sharon, my six-year-old, is already hard at work, sculpting a majestic unicorn from clay. Meanwhile, Katherine, my two-year-old, splashes merrily in the pool, her laughter filling the air. Austin, my partner, is in the kitchen, concocting a breakfast feast that will fuel our busy day. I steal a few precious moments to write, knowing that soon the whirlwind of family life will fully engulf us.

Amidst the chaos, I’ve discovered a secret haven, a place of peace and creativity — my hobbies. For me, that haven takes the form of beekeeping and writing, passions as diverse as they are fulfilling. These seemingly disparate interests, woven into the fabric of my life, create a harmonious balance, much like the delicate dance of bees in a hive, buzzing with life, and the flow of words on a page, creating a story of their own.

The Buzzing Symphony of Beekeeping

Let’s explore the fascinating world of beekeeping! Miami isn’t the first place that springs to mind when you think of bees, with its sunny, hot, and humid climate. But even in the heart of the tropics, these tiny pollinators can thrive.

At first, we were a little apprehensive, Austin and I. Everything was new, from the hive setup to understanding the unique challenges of a subtropical environment. It wasn’t always easy, there were times when the bees seemed frantic, and I’ll admit, I felt a little nervous around them. But I’ve learned patience is key. You need to observe them, understand their behavior, and give them the space they need. It’s almost like a meditation practice, watching them work diligently, their tiny bodies buzzing with purpose. It’s humbling and grounding. The reward? Delicious homemade honey, straight from our backyard. The taste is incredible, and knowing you helped create it is incredibly rewarding. It’s a gift from nature, a sweet reminder of the beauty and complexity of the natural world.

Photo by Shifaaz shamoon on Unsplash

The Pen as a Honeycomb

The lessons from the hive have found their way into my writing. Watching the bees, their intricate dances, their tireless work, their unwavering focus, it’s like a masterclass in attention to detail. Just as I study their behavior, I find myself paying more attention to the subtleties of language, the nuances of tone, the rhythms of sentences.

This micro-focus, this careful attention to detail, now informs my writing, crafting each word with the same care and precision that a bee brings to building its honeycomb. Beekeeping has become a meditative practice, a way to quiet the noise of the world and connect with a deeper sense of calm. This tranquility carries over into my writing, allowing me to write with clarity and purpose. The bees have shown me to trust the process, to let the words flow, and to find the sweet nectar of my own creativity.

The Story in a Buzz

The magic of storytelling is truly remarkable. For me, beekeeping and writing aren’t just about honey and words; they’re about sharing experiences, weaving tales, and connecting with others through the stories we tell. One particular memory stands out, a moment where these two passions intertwined in a surprising way.

I was inspecting the hive, my focus on the busy bees, when I noticed a little queen bee, her wings fluttering frantically. She was trying to escape her colony, her tiny body struggling against the hive’s entrance. I’d seen this before, a natural part of the bee lifecycle. But this time, it felt different. Her struggle felt almost… human. I couldn’t help but wonder: what was she trying to escape? Why was she leaving her hive? As I watched her, a story began to unfold in my mind. The queen bee, the worker bees, the hive itself — they all became characters in a story, a story about family, ambition, and the power of instinct. I wrote it down that night, the words flowing effortlessly onto the page, as if the bees themselves were whispering the tale. That’s the beauty of it all — the bees, in their own way, became my inspiration. They showed me that even in the quietest, most unassuming moments, there’s a story waiting to be told. They taught me that inspiration can come from anywhere, even a tiny bee struggling to find its way.

Photo by Caleb Jones on Unsplash

A Family Buzzing with Creativity

Beekeeping and writing have brought wonder and creativity into our family life. Sharon, my six-year-old, is enthralled by the busy bees, incorporating them into her clay sculptures. Her fascination with their lives is evident in every detail. Little Katherine, only two, is mesmerized by the bees’ buzzing. She attempts to mimic their movements in the pool, her tiny body mirroring their energetic dance.

Austin, our woodworking whiz, has even built a bee-themed playhouse for the girls. It’s a whimsical blend of wood and honeybee charm, complete with a tiny, bee-shaped door. The playhouse embodies the way our hobbies intertwine, creating a collaborative, artistic atmosphere for our entire family. There’s a shared enthusiasm, a buzzing symphony of creativity that fills our home with joy and inspiration.

The Buzzing Symphony of Life

Beekeeping and writing — two activities that might seem worlds apart, but in my life, they’ve come together beautifully. It’s like a sweet, buzzing harmony.

I understand it might not appeal to everyone, but the core message is the same for us all: find what you love, dive in, and let those passions become a part of you. They’ll bring rhythm, balance, and pure joy to your days. Don’t hold back — let your hobbies take flight! I’m curious, what are some of the things that truly ignite your spirit? Share your passions in the comments below — let’s create a symphony of shared experiences, together! Let’s buzz with creativity, together!

--

--

Olivia Reed
Word Garden

Hi! I'm Olivia :). I live in Miami with Austin, my wobbly-chair carpenter husband, and our kids, Sharon and Katherine. Join our fun productivity journey!