The Laptop vs Phone War on Medium ( Explained )

We are divided on Medium as some argue using the laptop is the only way to write, while some suggest writing on your phone is best

Georgia Smart
Word Garden
3 min readMar 24, 2024

--

Photo by Thao LEE on Unsplash

When I got told about Medium, I understood it was an article writing sight, I got told that you need a laptop to be successful and make money. I didn’t do too much research into it, I just decided (in my impulsive world) to head to the shops and buy a laptop.

I bought myself a $600 laptop, as I had a little cash spare, and decided to download Medium, once on it, it seemed like I could do everything I needed to on my phone.

Laptop

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

For the first article or two, I used my laptop to write, as it looked like a better format to write on, and I felt more professional, to be honest! But it took me a while, I don’t work or know much about computers so using a keyboard to write on was slowing me down.

I struggled with spelling and often made countless mistakes which took me over double the time to fix using Grammarly.

But I could see how better it was on a laptop, and as most writers use a laptop, I stuck with it. Article 5 must have passed and I thought about what was doing, and what were the positives about writing on a laptop that I didn’t Have on my phone, I got these:

  • Clear structure
  • Bigger text
  • Fewer distractions
  • Calming
  • Access more Medium features

Then I decided to give something else a go, using my phone.

Phone

Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

I was sitting at work and wanted to write an article, but without my laptop, I was trapped in the cycle of writing at home.

I downloaded the app and logged in, I started writing an article straight away, and I was shocked.

It wasn’t as different as I imagined, I got used to the different structure, and guess what? I loved it. It allowed me the freedom to be able to write whenever I wanted. The most shocking thing was how quickly I was able to write.

Within 10 minutes I was able to write a whole article, this is because I’m used to texting people, and for me, using the keypad is almost like muscle memory and I am super fast!

The other massive benefit is, that my phone autocorrects words, so if I hit the wrong button, it automatically corrects it without me having to take time to go back and edit it, my phone capitalizes words that should be and allows me to quickly write in a better way.

This reduced my time spent on Medium as using Grammarly, didn’t take as long.

Laptop vs phone

But you can only do so much on your phone, I always write my articles on my phone as it works well for me, but to finish off the article? I go to my laptop, this includes correcting Grammarly mistakes and publishing.

My laptop purchase although at first I thought was a waste, was an investment and something that I DO need in order to achieve. I spend my time jumping between the two and couldn’t be where I am today without them both.

I estimate in a couple of months, my Medium success will have paid back the $600 my laptop was.

It’s all about finding which works out best for you, so I’m intrigued, what do you prefer writing on? Or do you flip between both like me?

Thank you for reading, please let me know in the comments :)

Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

--

--

Georgia Smart
Word Garden

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)