The Rise of Selfishness

What examples do children receive when parents prioritize only their well being

Gratiela Grigorini
Word Garden

--

Photo by Austin Tate on Unsplash

Unfortunately, I observe a growing change in mentality in the society around me — among colleagues, neighbors, and even friends. More and more adults are adopting behaviors focused on “what’s best for me,first come, first served,” and “winner takes all,” which, in my opinion, are much more suitable for children than for adults.

That is a seriously growing problem: some parents care more about themselves than following the rules or thinking about others.

I’m not sure if you’ve faced similar situations or interacted with such parents. But from what I see around me, it would seem impossible not to have experienced at least once a situation where the parents nearby seem lacking in common sense and civic responsibility. What’s worse is that these actions take place in the presence of their own children.

And what can we expect in the future from these upcoming social actors? They seem to follow the examples they’ve witnessed around them in these jungle-like environments.

Some parents simply believe that the moment a child steps out the door, they should be ready for battle. A constant struggle, pushing and shoving, racing to achieve even the most mundane goals, from snagging…

--

--