The Simple Wisdom Of A Female Buddhist Monk I Met In Thailand

Melinda Judy
Word Garden
Published in
4 min readJan 28, 2024
Photo by author

This is my 17th Worldpackers work exchange experience.

I am just outside if Bangkok doing some easy tasks for a female Buddhist monk like gardening, teaching English and playing music for the children.who come visit on Saturdays.

I didn’t know women could be monks but this became allowed only 10 years ago in Thailand..

Nichiren Buddhism

Up until meeting Pim, my only personal experience with Buddhism was with a Japanese form founded by a 13th century Buddhist priest named Nichiren Daishonin.

Some friends of mine in Nashville, Tennessee I met thru song critic sessions, were devout followers and practiced a structured ritual every night.

They claimed the practice kept them spiritually centered while bringing them prosperity and good fortune.

So I decided to give it a try.

Starting the ritual involved setting up a gorhonzon, which looks like a wooden cabinet, on an altar at the eye level of the seated participants.

When the double doors of the gorhonzon are opened. the script in Sanskrit can easily be seen inside.

Offerings are made on each side of the gorhonzon expressing each aspect of the unlimited potential of human life: the bell represents hearing, candles represent sight, beads represent touch, food represents taste, and incense represents smell.

One vase of fresh cut greens is placed on each side of the gorhonzon to represent the eternal life of the Buddha.

A dish of water is placed in front of the gorhonzon; a tradition that dates back to ancient India because its life giving properties.

For a half hour devotees sit in front of the gorhonzon and chant Nam Myoho Renge Kyo which means. “Devotion to the mystic law of the lotis sutra, or “Glory to the Dharma of the lotis sutra,”

Believers claim that the purpose of the chanting is to reduce suffering by redirecting negative karma while reducing karmic punishments for previous lifetimes.

After the chanting is completed a script in Sanskrit is read out loud by the believers in unison. The whole experience lasts about 45 minutes.

Many of my friends say they feel exile rated after completing a ritual.

Honestly. I didn’t feel the same spiritual energy lift. I was just glad when it was over with.

By the end of a month of practicing the ritual consistently, I realized it just wasn’t for me.

A few months later I left the US and started traveling abroad.

Pim’s Practice Is More Rooted in Service Instead of Ritual

At Pim’s home there is none of what I expected from a Buddhist monk: no gorhonzon or altar.

She has incense and candles but doesn’t light them even for our meditational gathering at 8:15pm every evening.

There is no chanting, no Sanskrit reading, just a half hour of quiet centered meditation.

But even without all the ritual, she seems to be doing something right.

She radiates more warmth and joy than anyone I have ever known.

I asked her what form of Buddhism she practices. She says she practices no particular form but the focus of her practice is on the Dharma.

Dharma Is The Cosmic Order And Path To Liberation.

Buddhists believe that understanding and aligning oneself with the cosmic order governing the universe is essential for leading a purposeful life.

The Four Noble Truths

1, Dukkha (suffering) Accepting that. Suffering is an inherent part of existence.

2, Samuday (origin of suffering) identifying the cause of suffering

3. Nirodka {cessation of suffering)

4. Magga — Path of cessation of suffering and embracing the eightfold path as the way to end suffering

Her Daily Routine

Her routine starts at 6am. She goes out to the nearby market and receives food from many of the vendors. In return she gives them a special blessing.

She shares much of the food with others in need.

On Saturdays she opens up her home to the local children for game playing and learning English as a second language from the volunteers.

I had the pleasure of playing a few songs on the banjolele for them. I didn’t know any Thai songs so I went with Stephen Foster’s“Oh Susanna!*

Some Wise Affirmations I Learned From Pim And The Path Of Buddhism

To be grateful for each new day and what it brings into my life.

To embrace imperminance. Accept and flow with life’s changes as they come. Consistent mindful meditation is beneficial for keeping focused in challenging situations.

To cultivate compassion for myself and others.

To change what I can but accept what I can not change.

To walk the path of wisdom.Find a way to receive insights from every life experience, even the unfortunate ones.

To be at peace with myself.

If you enjoyed this article I hope you’ll leave a like and a comment.

If you didn’t I hope you’ll at least leave a comment.

Either way I would love the engagement.

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Melinda Judy
Word Garden

I want to share my travel stories and hear about those of others. Currently I am traveling on a shoestring retirement income.