Three Quotes on Happiness

Joy always resides in simple moments

Writer's Dream
Word Garden
3 min readJul 20, 2024

--

A stone with smile word written on it
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

We strive for happiness every moment.

Sometimes, it feels like an endless race to find happiness and peace. But we forget that it’s right there in front of us.

Here are three quotes on redefining happiness.

“Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.” — Dalai Lama

The last two years taught me the meaning of this quote through daily lifestyle.

#1. Previously, I loved to have outside food.

How I suffered :

I got stomach pain, and it impacted my work.

Lifestyle change :

I stopped eating outside food and started having home-cooked food.

Effect:

I don’t have stomach pain. I feel emotionally healthy and relaxed.

#2. Previously, I did not do physical exercise.

How I suffered:

I had a nagging body pain throughout the day with the loss of energy.

Lifestyle change :

Daily, I spend a few minutes doing the indoor workout. If I fall short on time, I take the stairs instead of the elevator.

Effect :

I don’t have body pain, and after every workout session, I feel energetically active.

#3. Previously, I did mobile scrolling during my free time.

How I suffered:

Sometimes, I felt lonely and sad for no reason.

Lifestyle change :

I have included creative activities during my free time.

I don’t sit idle unless I am too tired after working a lot.

Effect:

Free time has never been more enjoyable. I feel a child-like joy every time I do hobbies.

And I don’t feel lonely anymore.

So, through these three lifestyle changes, I have realized that happiness is a by-product of our actions and thoughts.

It is not something readymade.

Action tip:

When you feel something off in any area of your life, pause and see your actions.

It is easy to blame others, but we own the challenging experience.

“The best way to pay for a lovely moment is to enjoy it.” — Richard Bach

We have forgotten to enjoy the simple moments of life.

The definition of joy and happiness equates with extravagant arrangements.

I learned to enjoy watching the sunset during COVID.

A few years ago, I thought enjoying life meant going outside to eat in a nice restaurant or going on a road trip.

However, circumstances taught me to redefine it.

I have learned to derive happiness from ordinary moments.

  • Watching the clear blue sky
  • Enjoying the rain sounds
  • Focusing on the rustling of the leaves
  • Cooking a simple dinner at night
  • Taking rest after a hectic day

It’s always better to depend on simple things to feel the joy.

Action tip:

Today, list five simple things that you are grateful for. Appreciate these every day.

“Happiness is a journey, not a destination.” — Ben Sweetland

After writing for a few months, I always wanted to start earning through it.

Soon, the fun of writing disappeared.

Slowly, I felt stressed and impatient for not being able to make money through writing.

Then, I re-visited my writing routine.

  • I have learned to write to achieve my dream lifestyle(slow living)
  • I focus on writing slowly and enjoying the art and craft of writing(storytelling technique)

I feel much better while writing. I have learned to enjoy the process.

Action tip:

Whatever your current goal, focus on your actions.

The result is not in your control, but your actions are.

Recently, I finished reading The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking. It has taught me a few simple ways to be happy and satisfied in daily ordinary moments.

And these tiny lessons are life-changing.

Click here for a free ebook on the main lessons from the book The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking.

--

--