Traveling With Mother: Must-Do Experience At Least Once In Your Life

I will tell you why Parga is the best destination for going with your mother

B.W. Bibi
Word Garden
Published in
5 min readMar 28, 2024

--

Photo by Author

That was the only time we traveled somewhere, just her and me.
Miraculously, she didn’t bother me much.
We went by bus because none of us drove a car. And because it was very cheap. The price was unbelievable. Just 59 euros for 10 days, including accommodation and bus transportation! Can you believe that?

After about 10 hours, we arrived at our destination, just above the beach where we spent each day. The accommodation exceeded our expectations. Observing the Greeks as they went about their daily lives in the narrow streets was interesting.

Photos by Author

I would often walk through the area, and return for lunch together with my mother. Not a single day was dull.
Can you imagine that we met her former colleague there on the beach?
And the woman is cool. I think that she neglected her husband a bit, as 3 of us spent a lot of time together. But I guess he liked it too.

Parga is beautiful and I recommend it for a family trip. Or for someone who maybe doesn’t want to move around a lot but likes to see everything. In 10 days you will have a really interesting vacation, even for an adventurist like me.

Parga is very beautiful. I walked between 3 different beaches, and we were located near the one in the middle of those 3, otherwise the most interesting to me, and here’s why:

  • It’s quiet there, but it’s not like you have a boring view lying on the beach.
Photos by Author
  • You can see a small island from the beach, and there are several ways to get to it. I was swimming, but I heard and then saw how some people came to him through the water. :) Yes, it’s just that it’s a little higher for those
  • The island is interesting but very small, it has a small church and scattered trees through whose branches you can see all around.
Image by Author
  • The fortress near the beach is great for a leisurely walk and for those who like such places with history and beautiful views.
Photos by Author
  • Nearby you can refresh yourself with ice cream, coffee or something to eat…
Photos by Author

Whenever we went and bought some Greek dishes or delicacies, ice cream was a must. Or a beer.
I swam with mum’s old and my new friend to the island and we sat there for an hour before we returned. A small, unusual excursion. My mother is not a swimmer, but she watched us all the time we swam.
I explored the fortress on the small hill, as well as the nearby beaches, and sometimes my mom and I walked together. It was interesting for me to cross the hill and reach the secluded beach. I think it was intended for tourists from a nearby hotel, but PSST.

I didn’t like the other one, the bigger beach. Crowding and boredom were noticeable. Nevertheless, it was cool to explore everything possible to reach by foot.

Photos by author

All in all, I recommend Parga and don’t forget your mother.
Those are the moments you will always remember.

Go somewhere with your mother at least once.

Photos by Author

I am planning also a trip on the Trans-Siberian Railway with my father.
If you liked this one, follow me so you don’t miss the next story.

Thank you!

--

--

B.W. Bibi
Word Garden

Nature-loving Traveler, Writer, Engineer, Quality Auditor, Business Development Manager, Warrior for the free and smarter world. @bibiable😊 🌿🌍🌟