What A 20 Year Old Thinks Of Celebrities

And stars in our reality TV

Georgia Smart
Word Garden
3 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Photo by Jarvik Joshi on Unsplash

I grew up without any siblings, it was just me and my mum. We spent a lot of time a few years ago watching mainstream TV, which included game shows and soaps (EastEnders specifically)

But in the past few years, we don’t watch TV much anymore, it’s filled with reality TV. The shows you can normally describe are about people trying to find love.

But in a rather unexpected way. Let’s take Love Island for starts, they have girls and boys there.

The woman you can usually describe as loud and bubbly, a very large personality who wants to be the center of attention.

Some, not all, have had plastic surgery, they love themselves and their 5-inch nails.

The men on the other hand are pretty similar, they usually are loud, love themselves, and don’t have the traditional views on love.

I have only seen a glimpse of these shows as they don’t interest Me, I know so many people love them but for me, I don’t see the appeal.

I get the drama on these shows is usually what they watch it for, but the people can be too far from normality, including the way they look.

For me, being selected by your personality, rather than looks is important. I get the way to get the drama is through loud personalities, but regular people also could be shown.

I have only seen glimpses and of course, there are nice people on these shows, but they seem to portray themselves in any way just to get on TV.

Celebrate our celebrities?

I wouldn’t say that I particularly follow any celebrities, I like some who every now and again I check in on, but most of them I don’t.

When I think of celebrities I think of people who are role models, young people look up to them and many people want to be like them.

So you would expect them to be kind and respectful, but this isn’t always the case.

Some celebrities take advantage of their position to use it to be rude and get away with it.

Adam Levine is known to be rude to his fans, many times. To me, it just feels like should he really be as liked by as many people for having that trait.

I get that celebrities come in different ways, they earn the public’s attention through singing, acting, or social media.

But without the fans they are nothing.

I wish that they showed themselves in a more friendly manner to their fans, I get you can have a bad day but to snub people isn’t fair.

There are so many celebrities out there, I hardly know many as social media is creating so many more each day.

I’m unsure if one day we will have too many celebrities, as people can go viral on TikTok for one video.

Do you think social media creates too many celebrities?

Thank you for reading :)

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

--

--

Georgia Smart
Word Garden

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)