What I Learned From Dating 3 Women In One Year…

It never gets easy.

Nonso Divini
Word Garden
2 min readAug 1, 2024

--

Photo by James Kovin on Unsplash

After my two and a half year relationship crashed in February, 2022.

I told myself I needed time alone before heading back to the dating pool.

It been over year and three different women after and here’s what I’ll tell you:

It never gets easy.

My first realization is that you should not compare your present partner with your ex.

Three out of the three women I asked out told me that I am yet to get over my past relationship.

And the truth as I have to realise is that it is true.

I sometimes catch myself talking about her and the memories we shared and this really impacted my chances with them.

My second realization is that relationship is compromise.

I succeeded in letting all three go because I was unbending in some areas of my life.

I do regret it now.

No matter how you look at it, you both are different people and there are things that you’ll never agree on.

The compromise comes in when you let it for the sake of peace. I rarely did this.

My third realization is that you can be easily manipulated when you throw reasoning out the window.

Love is emotion.

This means that sometimes, you’ll make decisions that will surprise you.

I made the mistake of thinking that my decisions, most borne out of emotion will be reciprocated, but naaaaa.

They were not.

My final realization is that love is communication.

Give it and the love will grow.

Deny it and the love will evaporate.

I’ll be going back to try again better equipped with these lessons.

Wish me luck.

Stay jiggy

Nonso.

Do you have any experience with this?

I’d love to hear them.

--

--