You Are Sharing Too Much

Emotional resonance might be making us spill too much tea.

Victoria Nwachukwu
Word Garden
2 min readMar 13, 2024

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Hey! I know you want to identify with someone out there reading your work. I know you want to be your most authentic self. I also know that you just want to tell your truth. All of these are genuine reasons to tell your stories the way you tell them.

But wait, is there a possibility that you might be sharing too much? Where do we draw the line on how much is too much to tell?

Some writers in a bid to find emotional resonance when they write go as far as lying about their experiences or, to put it mildly, escalate these experiences beyond proportion to connect with their audience. I can infer this because I believe writers can express emotions they don’t feel. We can enter other People’s shoes and interpret life from their perspective as though we were them. As a songwriter, I know this firsthand.

What is good writing without evoking emotions and puzzling the mind?

Photo by Laurenz Kleinheider on Unsplash

In the coming years would you be proud of what you’ve written and how much of your business you’ve put out there? In most cases, scenarios like this become evidence of growth in the future but be sure you are making a well-informed decision. Before putting your business out there ask yourself these questions:

  • Am I willing to share this?
  • Is this too much to share?
  • Can I share more?
  • Will I still be able to make my point if I left this out? (you can ask yourself as many questions as possible to gain clarity)

As a reflective writer myself, asking these questions has helped me stay on track. As there’s a fine line between being authentic and doing too much.

Best Regards

--

--

Victoria Nwachukwu
Word Garden

I am a creative writer, songwriter, and singer. I capture the in-betweens of life in words and say the things too heavy for the lips with my pen.