You Walked In

A Poem

Nikhil Chandra
Word Garden
3 min readJan 20, 2024

--

Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

you walked in,
as I lay there, exhausted
from all the rounds we made
from rooms 209 to 201,
across archaic architecture that must have been made by
a child after an epiphany in his
little red shed.
I slouch. I watch another set of reels, eyes
held open by toothpicks of winter air, fearlessly holding back,
attacking eyelids. the day was over. the ceremony,
done. it was time to wait until appears the
charioteer, who extends my
knees, gets me onto my feet and into the
room, forced to ride behind
horses, that would take me into that realm.

you walked in,
took the littlest
breaths, like those of children in bliss, post-fever and
took the littlest
stealth in your approach and
took the largest seat on red fabric,
compressing even that
beneath me.

you took me in,
into the whirlwind of stories
cascading upon my then, lulled
lime drop that inhabited my skull.
how dedication to a higher power,
brings strength to never cower,
when in pain, drops a flower; he said
hours upon hours, rigour within vigour,
a bright passion around which every creation outside the
atmosphere revolves, its light blessing the closed
eyelids and bowed heads as they took turns to pay their visits,
before taking their fair share of black.

you took me in-
to your world and found the jigsaw puzzle,
that was hidden behind the brown edges of the
ceremonial bedding, that represented me
and designed a whole other thousand-piece set,
with me centred. how much joy you must have felt,
where frowned lips, and an illiterate tongue, collect
tears that mowed the beard around
could signal it, letting my
lime drop float atop the drink now made.
how i did not have your eyes,
but you had my back.
how i did not get your words,
in a language i should,
but you spoke your mind
in one i could. and did.

you took me in
your arms, an embrace unlike
anything
my eighteen years of walking this grass
had ever an invitation to.
our hearts in an embrace of their own,
our shoulders knock each other, like a favourite cousin,
one meets randomly at the store,
our breaths align, assigning a shine to something
that could finally redefine, for me, the divine.
for i was to sleep,
but you had all the dreams.

you gave me in
the manner of an arrow,
an epiphany, so sharp and direct,
i constructed a palace of life
right amidst our eyeline as its skyline.
room 201 now had a bright yellow glow,
not of riches, but traditions, of a way of life
that lets one walk for days on end, yet
never succumb to a slouch.

you tucked me in,
i did not need a charioteer to enter a realm,
i was merely visiting this Idyll, like a toddler,
with sights on the toy section in the store,
shown with highlights on only the best figurines
and heroes. I extend my knees. I jump off the ground,
transcendent, into that celestial realm
you helped me create,

when you walked in.

Hope you enjoy this piece! Feel free to check out some of my other work and let’s grow together!

--

--

Nikhil Chandra
Word Garden

Writer. Binding together introspection and extrospection to understand life through nuances. Having fun along the way!