Your Words Matter

Leave a trail. Don’t let fear of judgment hold you back.

Diane Brander
Word Garden

--

Follow my new publication Peace, Love & Crappiness here.

Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

My grandad was fond of a notebook. After my grandparents passed away and their house was being cleared out, we found lots of part-written books containing notes about a variety of things, from football scores to what he’d be having for his dinner.

I like a notebook too. But, I rarely used to write in them, preferring to keep my writing where nobody could see it like on my computer or phone. Now, I’m wondering why. Well, it seems it boils down to the same thing I’ve always struggled with:

Fear of judgment

It seems silly now. I put my words out there on Medium so it makes no sense not to leave behind a written trail.

Write in those notebooks. Leave fragments of yourself behind for others to find. Some words will seem like garbage, others like gold. But, your loved ones will feel a connection to you when you’re gone through the words that travelled from your brain to your fingers to the paper.

Don’t be afraid of what others might think. Whatever it is that you want to do, just do it. Don’t hide away. Fill those notebooks.

Thanks for reading!

If you like my words, please give a clap or a few dozen.

Follow me here.

Follow my new publication Peace, Love & Crappiness here.

Originally published on 25 October 2023.

--

--

Diane Brander
Word Garden

Scottish writer and runner. Curious about ways to boost health and performance through exercise and creativity. On a spiritual quest, whatever that means.