Madame Fury

Lakshmi Prakash
Word Lovers’ Club
Mar 9, 2024

My words hurt,

So do my touches,

And my bites are worse,

When I am present,

I hurt,

When I am not,

My absence hurts,

During the day,

The sunlight that reflects off my face hurts,

At night,

The clothes that cover me hurt,

When I speak,

Your ears hurt,

When I bite not,

Your earlobes hurt,

When I walk,

My curves hurt,

When I walk away,

My shadow hurts,

Yes, no amount of hurt will be enough,

I will want everything you have to give,

Even that last drop of your blood,

And I shall still demand

That I want a kiss on my neck,

Your tortured soul

Will wish hell were not real,

Yet you will still all of it for just you and only you,

Yes, I am your unhealthy addiction,

I am Madame Fury.

Do you dare?

--

--

Lakshmi Prakash
Word Lovers’ Club

A conversation designer and writer interested in technology, mental health, gender equality, behavioral sciences, and more.